Click Here for Your Bhagavad Gita Starter Kit!

Chapter 8: Attaining the Supreme

Bg 8.16
a-brahma-bhuvanal lokah
punar avartino 'rjuna
mam upetya tu kaunteya
punar janma na vidyate
äbrahma—up to the Brahmaloka planet; bhuvanät—from the planetary systems; lokäù—planets; punaù—again; ävartinaù—returning; arjuna—O Arjuna; mäm—unto Me; upetya—arriving; tu—but; kaunteya—O son of Kunté; punaù janma—rebirth; na—never; vidyate—takes to.
From the highest planet in the material world down to the lowest, all are places of misery wherein repeated birth and death take place. But one who attains to My abode, O son of Kunté, never takes birth again.
All kinds of yogéskarma, jïäna, haöha, etc.—eventually have to attain devotional perfection in bhakti-yoga, or Kåñëa consciousness, before they can go to Kåñëa's transcendental abode and never return. Those who attain the highest material planets or the planets of the demigods are again subjected to repeated birth and death. As persons on earth are elevated to higher planets, people in higher planets such as Brahmaloka, Candraloka and Indraloka fall down to earth. The practice of sacrifice called païcägni-vidyä, recommended in the Kaöha Upaniñad, enables one to achieve Brahmaloka, but if, in Brahmaloka, one does not cultivate Kåñëa consciousness, then he must return to earth. Those who progress in Kåñëa consciousness in the higher planets are gradually elevated to higher and higher planets and at the time of universal devastation are transferred to the eternal spiritual kingdom. When there is devastation of this material universe, Brahmä and his devotees, who are constantly engaged in Kåñëa consciousness, are all transferred to the spiritual universe and to specific spiritual planets according to their desires.


Join the Bhagavad-Gita Connect Newsletter

Copyright (c) 1972 by His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada